Home Tradeline Associations Sunil Kumar R re-elected as the President of UFTAA

Sunil Kumar R re-elected as the President of UFTAA


Sunil Kumar, Immediate Past President of TAAI, has been Re-elected as the President of UFTAA at the Annual General Assembly (Virtual) held on June 29, 2021. UFTAA has commenced its important expansion phase with focus on supporting the “Rebuilding – Restarting – Re-establishing Travel & Tourism Leadership”, a resolution by UFTAA General Assembly. This is UFTAA’s priority subject, to reach out to its members by partnering with National Associations and Authorities to guide this important transition period that can usher in an early sustainability.

In 66 years of UFTAA, a federation that is spread out over 65+ countries, and with a membership of over 25,000 travel companies, UFTAA endeavoured to represent the Travel Agents fraternity, globally in matters relating to IATA; Aviation and Education. With Tourism, as a priority subject in its portfolio, UFTAA’s focus is to help build a stronger global connect for the industry stakeholders. UFTAA’s active role in IATA’s Passenger Agency Program Global Joint Council (PAPGJC) will continue to articulate priority matters in the current evolving market place.

UFTAA’s General Assembly unanimously resolved to draw the attention of Governments on “Vaccine Equity” related to uniform policy on the corridor of travel formalities. The introduction of complex procedures by few governments, in the opinion of UFTAA can delay the most required turnaround of Travel & Tourism Industry to its previous robust levels. In the opinion of UFTAA, the international cooperation that exists in the development of vaccines must also be reflected in the setting of international standards for the management of passenger traffic between countries.


  • President:  Sunil Kumar Rumalla (TAAI) – India
  • Vice President and Chairman Air & IATA Matters:  Yossef Fatael (IITOA) – Israel
  • Vice President (Finance): Trevor Rajaratnam (TAASL) – Sri Lanka
  • Vice President (Tourism): Cetin Gurcun (TURSAB) – Turkey
  • Director:  Mohammad Wanyoike (KATA) – Kenya
  • Director: Varsha Ramchurn (MAITA) – Mauritius
  • Director:  Joe Olivier Borg– Malta
  • Director: Adriana Miori – Italy
  • Director:  William D’souza – Canada
  • Director:  Richard Lohento – ATOV, Benin
  • Director: Guizhen Sun – CATS, China
  • Board Invitee:  Achyut Gurgain – NATTA, Nepal